Am I required to buy auto insurance in Florida if I own or lease a car?
The way the law works in Florida is that if you own or lease a car, you are required to have automobile insurance on that vehicle. The state minimum requirements are PIP insurance, Personal Injury Protection, also referred to as No Fault Insurance, as well as Property Damage or PD Insurance. The PIP insurance actually goes with you as you're driving, and protects you, covers you for up to $10,000 of medical treatment, or $10,000 of lost wages. The PD damage insurance actually covers you if you cause an accident and do damage to someone else's vehicle or property, it will cover you for up to $10,000 of damage that you cause.