West Palm Beach Burn Injury
Burn injuries fall into one of three categories depending on their severity. Regardless of whether you suffered first-, second-, or third-degree burns, you may be entitled to compensation if another person's negligence or intentional wrongdoing contributed to your injuries.
To find out if you have grounds for a claim, contact Donaldson & Weston. We are well versed in the laws and procedures governing personal injury claims in Florida. Call 561-299-3999 to schedule a free case evaluation with one of our compassionate burn injury attorneys in West Palm Beach.When Might Punitive Damages Be Awarded in Burn Injury Cases?
In the state of Florida, burn victims may be entitled to compensatory damages if they can prove another party's negligence or wrongful act caused their injuries. These damages are intended to compensate claimants for the monetary and non-economic damages they incurred as a direct result of the accident.
In certain circumstances, plaintiffs may also be eligible to recover punitive damages. Unlike compensatory damages, a punitive award aims to punish the liable party for egregious misconduct and to deter future transgressions.
To recover punitive damages, the plaintiff must be able to prove that the defendant's behavior constituted intentional malice or gross negligence. In scenarios that involve intentional malice, the liable individual knew that his or her behavior exposed others to a heightened risk of injury or death but ignored the dangers and acted anyway. Deliberately violating industry safety standards when handling hazardous materials or chemicals is just one example of intentional malice that can result in burn injuries.
Gross negligence, on the other hand, means the defendant's actions were so reckless that they exhibited a conscious disregard for the safety, rights, or lives of other people. Driving while intoxicated is one of the most common examples of gross negligence. Those who drink and drive do not necessarily set out to cause wrecks that injure innocent individuals, but the simple act of getting behind the wheel while under the influence demonstrates a total disregard for the safety of other motorists and pedestrians on the road.
In Florida, punitive damages are typically capped at $500,000 or three times the total compensatory damages, whichever is greater. If the defendant was motivated by financial gain, though, the cap increases to four times the total compensatory damages or $2 million.Call 561-299-3999 for a Free Consultation with a West Palm Beach Burn Injury Lawyer
If you suffered serious burns in a preventable accident, turn to Donaldson & Weston. Our personal injury lawyers take great pride in helping innocent victims recover the funds they need to move on with life.
As soon as you walk through the door, we will talk with you honestly about your case and start planning a strategy for pursuing the compensation you deserve. Call 561-299-3999 or use our Online Contact Form to set up a free consultation with a personal injury attorney in West Palm Beach.